Multi-Resolution Game Development With GameBuilder Studio Check it out!
NEW Version 0.9.7 has arrived! New Blazing Fast Particle Engine & More Game Actions. Check it out
Publish to Android Device
  • Hi all,

I've got a question.  I'm currently trying to figure out how to deploy my game to my phone so that I can test it before I publish it on the Google Play Store. This is my very first time developing a phone app, and thus, I'm a noob.  I've looked at the following tutorials I found on game builder's website:

That's all fine and dandy, but I'm more concerned with what I'm doing in the GameBuilder Studio program itself.  When I hit publish, I've set it to target the android platform as well as the configuration.  There are a few fields though concerning certifications and Identification.  To be quit honest, I have no idea what I'm doing with that.  Do I make it up?  Do I get it from Google?  Again, I'm new to this, and they may be dumb questions, but I need help.

Other than that, I've got my smartphone hooked up to my computer, and when I hit the deploy tab and refresh the connected device list, nothing pops up.  Is there something special needed to do that?

So far my understanding (correct me if I'm wrong because it's highly likely), is that I need to create a dumby app, publish it to get an apk file, post that to Google, all so I can get something (no clue what).  Then I can finally plug something into my real app and publish it to my phone for testing?  Then after all that I do the same thing to publish it to the store?

As you can see I'm a bit lost, and I've not been able to find anything on gamebuilderstudio or on google that has been able to break down the process for a noob like me into simple steps.  Any guidance would be appreciated!

-Ro0ty

• 10 Comments sorted by