Multi-Resolution Game Development With GameBuilder Studio Check it out!
NEW Version 0.9.7 has arrived! New Blazing Fast Particle Engine & More Game Actions. Check it out
Showing grids in a game
  • Hello,

I am new to Game builder and I had a few questions about grids.  First I want to say that I have been impressed with the software and how active the Devs are on the forums, that kind of interactive approach got me to buy the Pro version.  

I am new to game development and have little programming so far, I tried to look for the answers elsewhere but could not find them.  I am designing a tower defense game where the player will choose where to put the treasure (what they are defending) anywhere on the map.  After it is placed they get to build their own road that connects to one of the 4 exits, this is the road that the enemies will travel down.  

The questions are is there an easy way to display a grid in the game? and is there a way to make the grid clickable?  What I would like to have happen is when a player selects a troop to place the grid shows up to make it easier for them to see where a troop can be placed.  The same idea would work for the treasure and road.  I am hopping to make the game for at least the Android market so the squares of the grid would need to be clickable as well.
  • 5 Comments sorted by
  • @Grimdin thanks for upgrading and supporting the tool! Yes there is an isometric grid renderer already made in the engine it just hasn't been exposed through the editor yet. It will be in the next release. I can also show you how to make it clickable when it is released.
  • Thanks Lavon for the response, that is very good news. Silly question here but I am assuming that one would need to make the game in the isometric 2.5 layout? I would love to be shown how to do that, thank you for the offer.
  • @Grimdin oh i'm sorry I thought you were talking about isometric grids. You want a 2D grid? That is doable as well.